Past Writer in Residence

Glenn Dixon (Fall 2013), Cranbrook, BC

Chris Gilpin (Spring 2013), Winfield, BC

Janet Wilson (Fall 2012), Haida Gwaii, BC

Brian Brett (Spring 2012), Cortes Island, BC

Alan Cumyn (Fall 2011), Port Alice, BC

Maggie de Vries

Maggie de Vries (Spring 2011), Gibsons, BC

Shauntay Grant (Fall 2010), Trail, BC


Ivan Coyote (Spring 2010), Hope, BC

Rhuksana Khan (2009), Prince Rupert, BC

Susan Juby (2009), Salt Spring Island, BC

David Homel (2008), Port Alberni, BC

Marie-Louise Gay (2008), Port Alberni, BC

Chris Humphreys (2008), Lantzville and Nanaimo, BC

Carrie Mac (2007), Terrace, BC

Michael Kusugak (2006), Port Hardy, BC

Kevin Major (2004), Powell River, BC

Sheree Fitch (2003), Nelson, BC


The Writer-in-Residence program is supported by the Michael R. Shaw Outreach Program.

About the Michael R. Shaw Fund
Michael R. Shaw was a young man who loved the outdoors but whose life was cut short in 2003 when he and some of his classmates were swept away by an avalanche in BC. The Michael R. Shaw Fund was established through the generosity of the Woodward family and the Festival is honoured to lend Michael's name to the program.