38 Crime Time

Wayne Arthurson Alberta

Wayne Arthurson, like his protagonist Leo Desroches, is half Cree and half French Canadian. He has worked as a newspaper reporter, a drummer in a rock band and as a freelance journalist. He was born in, and lives in, Edmonton. Fall from Grace is his second novel. Read more

Stuart MacBride Scotland

Stuart MacBride has gone from asking people if they “want fries with that” to project-managing vast IT projects for the oil industry. Somewhere in the middle, he managed to make money out of dressing up as a woman. He’s also penned a bestselling series of thrillers featuring Detective Sergeant Logan McRae, including the award-winning Cold Granite, Dying Light and the most recent, Shatter the Bones. MacBride lives in northeast Scotland with his wife, Fiona, his cat, Grendel, and a vegetable plot full of weeds. Read more

Denise Mina Scotland

Denise Mina was born in Glasgow and moved more than 21 times in 18 years during her childhood because of her father’s job as an engineer. Her first novel, Garnethill, won The Crime Writers’ Association John Creasey Dagger for best first crime novel. Since then, she has written seven more novels, the most recent of which is The End of the Wasp Seasont. She also writes comics and short stories, and she is a regular contributor to radio and television. Read more

Ian Rankin Scotland

Ian Rankin is the UK's number one crime author. He is most famous for the acclaimed Inspector Rebus series, which has topped The Sunday Times bestseller lists, been translated into 22 languages and been adapted into a major television series. His new novel, The Impossible Dead, brings back the character of Malcolm Fox from Rankin’s bestselling The Complaints. Rankin recently received the Order of the British Empire for services to literature. He lives in Edinburgh. Read more

Peter Robinson Ontario

Peter Robinson is the recipient of numerous awards for his Inspector Banks novels, including the prestigious Grand Prix de Littérature Policière for the French translation of In a Dry Season, the Edgar Award for the short story Missing in Action, Denmark’s Palle Rosenkrantz Award and several Arthur Ellis Awards for best novel. In 2002, he was awarded the Dagger in the Library Award by the Crime Writers’ Association. Robinson was born in Yorkshire, England, and now lives in Toronto. His new book is Before the PoisonRead more

Host: Peter Robinson
Friday, October 21, 2011 - 10:00am - 11:30am
Granville Island Stage
$17 / $8.50 for student groups

It’s certainly no crime to spend Friday afternoon with these fine crime fiction authors. Whether you’re captivated by their main detective characters, the loops and bends of their plots, their distinct settings or the emotional rides they provide, these are writers who have provided a welcome and intriguing escape for many readers for many years. Newcomer Wayne Arthurson joins Scotland’s Ian Rankin, Denise Mina and Stuart MacBride, all of whom have been celebrated nationally and internationally for their talent for thrilling. This event will be hosted by Peter Robinson, who has achieved international acclaim for his crime writing.

Tickets are still available and can be purchased at the door 45 minutes before the event begins.

Bookmark  and Share